Arnolds in Kloof Street

Published on by Kev



I have this tendancy to try a hamburger at every eating establishment in Cape Town, last night brought me to a place called Arnolds in Kloof Street (Cape Town). I like to give my hamburger a rating out of 5, as to how its displayed on my plate, is there chips and onions, is there a nice marinade they grill the burger with, you know that type of thing.

We were greeted by a host as we entered the restaurant and took a seat outside under a heater and ordered a bottle of wine. After a while of chilling, giggling at my own jokes as I usually do and telling tall tales to impress the people who "may" be listening around me (I like to entertain okay!), I noticed a little cockaroach bolt across my table, this didn't go down to well in my book of restaurant hygiene and my girlfriend freaked out and stomped the thing to pieces when it landed on the floor. Another thing that irritated me after the cockaroach incident was this old man who's dog just stumbles around to everyone's table and hangs out with the patrons, then the old man stumbles (he was drunk and I think his dog was too) and cracks a conversation with the people...Oi!, another star missing from the "kev's hamburger ranking"...now after all this I was really expecting a pile of crap delivered to me on a plate.

The food came, relatively fast and it was presented very nicely, not what I was expecting after the roach and hooch debacle before. I must say the food was really good, I think if the burger was just marinated a bit more Arnolds could have won a star back on the ranking. The service was also really good and for some bizarre reason I was given a coupon for a free bottle of wine for when I come there again. My girlfriend attracted some attention with her roach stomping or it could have been me screaming like a girl and standing on the table demanding her to kill it.

Not to down talk the place, but we were outside with the roach incident but they can really put a no animals policy up, that was just down right annoying. All in all, the food and wine was good and the service excellent...I would probably go there again...and sit inside.

Kev's Hamburger ranking out of 5

        


3/5 isn't too bad... 

Published on Out and About with Kev

To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post
A
<br /> Great article and it's so helpful. But I just can't see any picture in your blog. Is that my computer problem? But I can see other s' blog pics. what a nice shoe, it must very suitable and<br /> comfortable for wear. Thanks for the tip to visit your site.<br /> <br /> <br />
Reply